

ANNEX 2: FURTHER INFORMATION ON THE COMPETITION AND THE JURY*

The competition, launched in February 2014, was conducted as a two-stage invitational competition that covered three different locations. The three locations had been chosen on the basis of their suitability for accommodating – and ensuring the visibility of – large art installations.

Stage 1

A selection committee of internationally renowned art experts drew up a list of artists from across the EU for each of the locations. The artists had to fulfil the selection criteria laid down in the competition rules. The competition was organised in such a way as to ensure that, as far as possible, at least one artist from each Member State took part in the first stage. In total, 59 artists from 28 EU countries were nominated.

Composition of the selection committee

- Nicolas Bourriaud (Director, École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris)
- Susanne Gaensheimer (Director, Museum of Modern Art, Frankfurt am Main)
- Massimiliano Gioni (Director, New Museum, New York, Curator Venice Biennial 2013)
- Maria Hlavajova (Artistic Director, basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht)
- Enrique Juncosa (former Director of the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin)
- Kestutis Kuizinas (Director, Contemporary Art Centre, Vilnius)
- Ann-Sofi Noring (Chief Curator, Moderna Museet, Stockholm)

Stage 2

At its first meeting in June, the jury was asked to select up to eight of the nominated artists for each location. These artists were then invited to develop concrete design proposals, which were anonymised before being submitted to the jury.

At its second meeting on 23 and 24 October, the jury identified the best proposal for each of the three locations.

Composition of the jury

On behalf of the ECB:

- Chairperson: Benoît Cœuré, Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
- Vice-Chair: Werner Studener, Director General Administration

On behalf of the national central banks of the European System of Central Banks:

• Ewald Nowotny, Governor of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank

• Erkki Liikanen, Governor of Suomen Pankki - Finlands Bank

On behalf of the architectural office responsible for designing the ECB's new premises:

• Frank Stepper, Senior Project Partner, Coop Himmelb(I)au

Art experts:

- Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Curator Istanbul Biennial 2015 and Visiting Professor Northwestern University (Evanston/IL)
- Isabel Carlos, Director of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Lisbon
- Sirje Helme, Director General, Art Museum of Estonia, Tallinn
- Rein Wolfs, Director of the Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany, Bonn

* Information on the individuals mentioned was correct as at the date of first publication, namely 10 November 2014.

European Central Bank

Directorate General Communications, Global Media Relations Division Sonnemannstrasse 20, 60314 Frankfurt am Main, Germany Tel.: +49 69 1344 7455, E-mail: media@ecb.europa.eu Website: www.ecb.europa.eu Reproduction is permitted provided that the source is acknowledged.